Eight limbs of yoga and their meanings

“Yoga” originates from the Sanskrit word Yuj, which can be changed into “union” or “yoking.” When you learn Yoga, the real meaning of this word, it is regularly stimulated that in yoga, we are commending the association of our psyche, life elements. What is frequently precluded is the motivation behind why it’s to our greatest advantage to get this going. To get this reason, we should return much further. Yoga is a group of physical, mental, and spiritual practices or disciplines which originated in ancient India. Yoga is one of the six Āstika schools of Hindu philosophical traditions. You are invited to Shiva Tattva Yoga for a best Yoga Teacher Training Rishikesh.

As per Vedanta, all began with Purusha, which is the complete being. You can equally suggest to Purusha as a state of excellence, divine essence, or endless love. Inside Purusha, there is no stable as there is not all that much, and along these lines, no division. At the point when Purusha styles, that making winds up known as Prakriti. All that we know and comprehend is Prakriti. In any case, it is being a piece of Prakriti, we at that point overlook that our substance is Purusha. The way toward “recollecting” is found through Chitta, which is the advancement of cognizance. Hence, if we assemble every one of the bits of ourselves— body, mind, spirit, soul, feelings—we are progressively disposed to recall that we originate from pure consciousness.

Yoga Teacher Training India

The Eight limbs of Yoga:

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali refers to 8 limbs of yoga, each of which offers guidance on how to live a meaningful and purposeful life. Learn about each one and how to incorporate them into your practice.

  1. Yama

The first limb, Yama, manages one’s sense of integrity and ethical standards, concentrating on our conduct and how we act throughout everyday life. Yamas are all-inclusive practices that relate best to what we know as the Golden law, “Do unto others because you would have them do unto you.”

Following are the five Yamas:

  • Satya: truthfulness
  • Ahimsa: nonviolence
  • Asteya: nonstealing
  • Aparigraha: noncovetousness
  • Brahmacharya: continence
  1. Niyama

Niyama, the subsequent limb, has to do to occupy self-time order and profound observances. Consistently going to church or temple gatherings, praying before suppers, building up your very own reflection practices, or making a propensity for going for pensive strolls alone are for the most part instances of Niyamas practically speaking.

The five Niyamas are:

  • Santosa: contentment
  • Saucha: cleanliness
  • Tapas: heat; spiritual austerities
  • Isvara Pranidhana: surrender to God
  • Svadhyaya: learning of the Holy Scriptures as well as of one’s self
  1. Asana

Asanas, the pose rehearsed in yoga, involve the third limb. In the yogic view, the body is a sanctuary of the soul, the consideration of which is a significant phase of our profound development. Through the act of asanas, we build up the propensity for order and the capacity to think, the two of which are essential for meditation.

  1. Pranayama

For the most part, deciphered as breath control, this fourth stage comprises of methods intended to pick up dominance over the respiratory procedure while perceiving the association between the breath, the psyche, and the feelings. As inferred by the strict interpretation of pranayama, “life power expansion,” yogis accept that it restores the body as well as broadens life itself. You can rehearse pranayama as a secluded method, or incorporate it into your every day hatha yoga schedule.

  1. Pratyahara

Pratyahara, the fifth limb, implies sensory transcendence or withdrawal. It is during this phase we try to draw our mindfulness away from the outer world and outside boosts. Distinctly mindful of, yet developing a separation from, our faculties, we direct our consideration inside. The act of pratyahara furnishes us with a chance to venture back and investigate ourselves. This withdrawal enables us to equitably watch our longings: propensities that are maybe impeding to our wellbeing and which likely meddle with our internal growth.

  1. Dharana

Each stage sets us up for the following: the act of pratyahara makes the setting for Dharana or fixation. Having eased ourselves of outside diversions, we would now be able to manage the diversions of the mind itself. No simple undertaking! In the act of focus, which goes before reflection, we figure out how to hinder the intuition procedure by focusing on a single mental item: a particular fiery focus in the body, a picture of a god, or the quiet reiteration of a sound.

We have just started to build up our forces of focus in the past three phases of the pose, breath control, and withdrawal of the faculties. In pranayama and asana, although we focus on our activities, our consideration voyages. Our concentrate always moves as we adjust the numerous subtleties of a specific stance or breathing method. In pratyahara, we become self-perceptive; presently, in Dharana, we concentrate on a single point.

  1. Dhyana

Contemplation or meditation, the seventh phase of ashtanga, is the continuous progression of fixation. Even though focus (Dharana) and reflection (dhyana) may seem, by all accounts, to be one and the equivalent, a scarcely discernible difference of refinement exists between these two phases. Where Dharana rehearses one-pointed consideration, dhyana is eventually a condition of being distinctly mindful without core attention. At this stage, the mind has been calmed, and in the calm, it produces few or no contemplations by any means.

The stamina and strength it takes to arrive at this condition of stillness are very amazing. While this may appear troublesome if certainly feasible errand, recollect that yoga is a procedure. Even though we may not accomplish the “picture immaculate” present or the perfect condition of awareness, we advantage at each phase of our advancement.


  1. Samadhi

Patanjali depicts this eighth and last phase of ashtanga, samadhi, as a condition of joy. At this stage, the mediator meets with his or her place of center and rises above the Self by and large. The meditator comes to understand a significant association with the divine, interconnectedness with every single living thing. With this acknowledgment comes the “peace that passeth all understanding”; the experience of rapture and being at one with the Universe. Superficially, this may appear to be a fairly grandiose, “holier than thou” sort of objective.


Every limb of yoga has its importance. Each limb works in its way to help our body and mind join Yoga Teacher Training in Tapovan Rishikesh today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *